2018 U.S. Chess Championship

The 2018 U.S. Championship is an elite national championship event, featuring 12 of the strongest chess players in America. Over the course of eleven rounds, these competitors will battle for $194,000 in prize money, qualification into the World Championship cycle, and the coveted title of 2018 U.S. Champion.

At A Glance
Dates April 17 - 30, 2018
Location Saint Louis Chess Club 
Format 12-Player Round Robin
Prize Fund $194,000
Commentators Learn about our live broadcast and audience commentators.
Spectators Purchase Tickets Here!

 

Date Time* Event
Tuesday, April 17 6:30 PM Opening Ceremony
Wednesday, April 18 1:00 PM Round 1
Thursday, April 19 1:00 PM Round 2
Friday, April 20 1:00 PM Round 3
Saturday, April 21 1:00 PM Round 4
Sunday, April 22 1:00 PM Round 5
Monday, April 23 1:00 PM Round 6
Tuesday, April 24
Rest Day
Wednesday, April 25 1:00 PM Round 7
Thursday, April 26 1:00 PM Round 8
Friday, April 27 1:00 PM Round 9
Saturday, April 28 1:00 PM Round 10
Sunday, April 29 1:00 PM Round 11
Monday, April 30 1:00 PM Playoff (if necessary)

6:30 PM Closing Ceremony

* All times listed are CDT (GMT-5).

U.S. Championships Prize Fund

PLACE PRIZE PLACE PRIZE
1st $50,000 7th $9,000
2nd $35,000 8th $8,000
3rd $25,000 9th $7,000
4th $20,000 10th $6,000
5th $15,000 11th $5,000
6th $10,000 12th $4,000
Total Prize Fund $194,000
In addition, the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis will sponsor the “$64,000 Fischer Bonus Prize”. Any player that finishes the U.S. Championships field with a perfect 11-0 score shall be awarded an additional $64,000.
The 2018 U.S. Championship is the FIDE zonal championship for the United States.

Live Spectator Accommodations

The Club has special hotel rates with the following establishments. Please make sure to ask for the "chess rate" when making reservations. Tickets to watch the tournament live are available here > 

Chase Park Plaza Hotel
212 N. Kingshighway Blvd
Saint Louis, MO 63108
(877)-587-2427

Chess rate: $159/night, $179/suite

Holiday Inn Express
4630 Lindell Blvd.
Saint Louis, MO 63108
(314) 361-4900

Chess rate: $114/night, parking $10/night, breakfast included 

Hampton Inn & Suites
5650 Oakland Ave.
Saint Louis, MO 63110
(314) 655-3994

Chess Rate: 10% off, call 314-655-3993