The 2016 U.S. Championship is an elite national championship event, featuring 12 of the strongest chess players in America. Over the course of eleven rounds, these competitors will battle for $294,000 in prize money, qualification into the World Championship cycle, and the coveted title of 2016 U.S. Champion.


Dates April 13-30, 2016
Location Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis
Format 12-Player Round Robin
Prize Fund $294,000
Spectators Tickets will be available shortly.


U.S. Championships and U.S. Women's Championships Schedule of Events

Date Time* Event
Wednesday, April 13 Player Arrival

6:30 PM Opening Ceremony
Thursday, April 14 1:00 PM Round 1
Friday, April 15 1:00 PM Round 2
Saturday, April 16 1:00 PM Round 3
Sunday, April 17 1:00 PM Round 4
Monday, April 18 1:00 PM Round 5
Tuesday, April 19
Rest Day
Wednesday, April 20 1:00 PM Round 6
Thursday, April 21 1:00 PM Round 7
Friday, April 22 1:00 PM Round 8
Saturday, April 23 1:00 PM Round 9
Sunday, April 24 1:00 PM Round 10
Monday, April 25 1:00 PM Round 11
Tuesday, April 26 1:00 PM Playoff (if necessary)

6:30 PM Closing Ceremony
Wednesday, April 27
Media & Community Events
Thursday, April 28 TBD Blitz Day 1
Friday, April 29 TBD Blitz Day 2
Saturday, April 30 Player Departure

* All times listed are CDT (GMT-6).

Quick Links


Live Spectator Accommodations

Tickets may be purchased to each individual round of the 2016 U.S. Championships, which includes unlimited access into the championship tournament hall, additional live Grandmaster-led commentary, and complimentary beverage and food catering. Annual members to the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis receive free entry to each daily round.

The Chess Club has special hotel rates with the following establishments. Please make sure to ask for the "chess rate" when making reservations.

Walking Distance to Chess Club

Chase Park Plaza Hotel
212 N. Kingshighway Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63108
(877) 587-2427
Chess rate: $159/night
Parkway Hotel
4550 Forest Park Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
(314) 256-7777
Chess rate: $97/night
Holiday Inn Express 
4630 Lindell Blvd.

St. Louis, MO 63108
(877) 834-3613 

Chess rate: $84/night


Short Taxi Ride to Chess Club

Hampton Inn & Suites
5650 Oakland Ave.
St. Louis MO 63110
(314) 655-3994

Chess Rate: 10% off through online link.
Water Tower Inn
3545 Lafayette Ave
St. Louis, MO 63104
(314) 977-7500
Chess rate: $70/night